Book Reviews

Grey (Fifty Shades #4) by E.L. James

Date Published: June 18th 2015

Date I read the book: July 3, 2015- July 8 2015


Despite the commotion the first three books did to the whole world, I admit that I read the book, I like the book, and would totally recommend it, not for the reason of the crude sexual intercourse that’s been happening in some pages of it, but because of the story inside it.

It may seem like the story itself doesn’t teach you much, but the part where the story is simple enough, that it looks like it happens in real life makes it all the more a good book.

Because, honestly, it does happen.

“Ana” is too everyday and ordinary for her. And too familiar. Those three letters have the power to wound… And in that moment, I know that her rejection, when it comes, will be hard to take.

PLOT

Gosh, do I really need to make a plot for this?! 

For those who read the Fifty Shades Trilogy already, no need for this right?

For those who haven’t… Um, Why are you considering reading this book then? READ THE FIRST ONE FIRST! and/or read the synopsis from the Fifty Shades of Grey.


Anyways, as much as I love the story, how I fell in love with the characters, and how I expanded my vocabulary because of Ana and Christian’s deep words that made me open the dictionary tons of times, I’m afraid that part of reviewing this book is also pointing out the bad things, but there will be good things too… So I’ll just mix them up.

I am actually grateful to know that EL James published this, not because I want to read another round of sexual intercourse of fictional characters, but because I wanted to know the POV of Christian. All those times thinking what would Christian feel like at this part, or what he’s thinking about was answered. I was both happy and annoyed at knowing how his mind works, but alas– I asked for this, this was what I got.

I love how the book is full of new words, that are totally a brain food for my malnourished brain. I mean words like: “Concupiscent”, “Soliloquy”, and a whole lot of what-nots are in the book, and right now, I have no idea what they mean, so I’ll probably be checking the dictionary after writing this. Though sometimes, it frustrates me how I have to stop reading for a second because I have to check the meaning of a word in a dictionary before I can proceed, because I have no idea what the sentence mean…

I hate how Christian always think about his, I’m sorry for the term, D.I.C.K.

I mean, that’s just a part of your body, Christian! Not another human being that you talk to. Honestly, do men always do this? think of their dicks? (I actually hate saying that word, because it doesn’t sound clinical to me, the Occupational Therapist inside me wants to say “Penis”) okay, enough of this topic.

I hate how amateurish the book feels like for me. I mean, I know E.L. James isn’t that deep into the literary world, she just started with this series right? but still, after four books, and a ton of book reviews already, she should be getting good at this by now… Though, I still understood the story, I guess, this isn’t much of a problem, just a problem for me.

I like how readers got to read Christian’s childhood and Mrs. Robinson days throughout the book, how readers witnessed Christian’s slow progress to liking Ana, and how he started to change to a new Christian, which those who read the trilogy got to read in the second and third book.

I can pretty much say that that’s about it.

I didn’t make a review for the trilogy, because I don’t have enough words to type for what I felt for the trilogy… I’m making one for this book, because people all over the world are either happy with the new addition, or mad for making another useless book.

I am thankful for E.L. James, because she listened to those who appealed for a POV for Christian, and despite the negative feed backs I stated here, not all books are perfect.


“Of course is there anything you can’t do well?”

“Yes… A few things.”

Cook.

Tell jokes.

Make free and easy conversation with a woman I’m attracted to…

Leave a Reply

